Welcome to Canada Cup T20 Official Web Site  

West Indies win The CANADA CUP T20 in a thrilling Final against Sri Lanka.
CANADA CUP T20 – Season 1
Creating Cricket Stars of Tomorrow!

The Canada Cup T20 came alive on the 30th of August 2010 at the Elson Cricket Grounds in Markham as Canadian Teams representing India – Sri Lanka – Bangladesh – West Indies – World X1 and Pakistan took to the field to compete for the prestigious Canada Cup T20 Challenge Trophy.

This unique tournament which represented 24 Cricket Playing nations in Canada’s Fastest growing sport – CRICKET – was organized to help young cricketers showcase their talents and win a place in international cricket.

After 4 days of fabulous Cricket which included a series of quarter final games and a semi final game it was all down to the  two unbeaten teams West Indies and  Sri Lanka to face the finals on the 10th of September, 2010.

In a well organized Final the Cricketers of both teams entered the grounds determined to beat the other and the two captains Hemnarine Chatergoon (CANADA WEST INDIES) and Danuka Pathirana (CANADA SRI LANKA) together with the Sponsor Ms Meleni David and the Umpires Mr Shanthikumar and Mr Richards were ready to call the toss.

West Indian Captain Hemnarine Chatergoon won the toss and decided to send the Sri Lankans to Bat.
Sri Lankan skipper Danuka Pathirana knowing well the batting strength of the West Indian side was keen in recording a big score and assigned the initial task to opener Srimantha Wijeyratne and Tiran Yahathugoda.
The duo performed well in keeping their wickets in tack by selecting their shots carefully and punishing only the lose balls that were rarely bowled by the West Indians Bowlers. 

The West Indians kept to a good line & length and the Sri Lankan batsman had no choice but to take the risk of clearing the boundary to help push the score up.
 Srimantha and Tiran decided to go for the big shots and a couple of sixes by Srimantha got the score board ticking and the Lankan camp all excited. But before long Yahathugoda was caught for 17 runs which included 3 boundaries and he paved the way for Sri Lankan Skipper Danuka Pathirana to face the Windies attack.

Shortly afterwards the wicket of Srimantha fell at 28 runs as he was also caught while trying to clear the boundary.
The West Indians kept taking wickets at regular intervals to restrict the Lankans to a score of 106 for 8 wickets in their allocated 20 overs.  Captain Danuka Pathirana scored 27 runs which included 2 fours.

The West Indian bowling attack included Ian Baldeo (2 for 23), R Chatergoon (2 for 17) and Moonasar (2 for 20).

Read More..

How it works   |   Our Rules    |     

  © 2010 Canada Cup T20 :: Design by e-team ::   Home | About | Members | Teams | News | Upcoming | Media | Contact us  
  Terms and conditions | Privacy policy | :: This site is best viewd in 1024 x 750 resolution ::